Romania, four other European countries want ban on Ukrainian grain to be extended until the end of the year

Poland, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia support the extension until the end of the year of the EU ban on the import of Ukrainian grain to these countries, Polish Agriculture Minister Robert Telus said on Friday, Reuters reports.

In May, the European Union allowed Ukraine’s five neighbors to ban domestic sales of Ukrainian wheat, corn, canola and sunflower seeds, while allowing transit of such cargoes for export elsewhere.

This ban is due to end on September 15.

“We support a ban on imports into our countries until the end of the year. I mean, and failing that, some countries will introduce their own restrictions. Our statement is clear,” Telus said in a press conference.

The agriculture ministers of the five countries agree at the same time to support subsidies for grain transit and want other products to be added to the list of import bans, such as raspberries in the case of Poland, Telus also said.

banBulgariaEUextensionhungaryimportPolandPolish Agriculture Minister Robert TelusRomaniaSlovakiaUkrainian grain
Comments (0)
Add Comment