Seven CSM members boycott sittings protesting against department for investigating magistrates

Seven members of the Superior Council of Magistracy (CSM), including vice-president Nicole  Solomon have boycotted the past two sittings, publicly asking for the delays of all debates on the special department for the investigation of magistrates until the reports by the Venice Commission and by GRECO are translated and released.

Sources within CSM revealed that the seven magistrates have chosen to boycott the plenary sittings to avoid challenging in court the rulings on the special section for the investigation of magistrates (SIIJ).

More precisely, the CSM members have chosen the boycott as, even if they had voted against the points regarding the investigation section, the rulings would have been challenged in court. Sources said the seven magistrates refused to get out of their offices, thus conditioning their attendance at the sittings.

The protesters argued that they had not been consulted on the date or on the content of the agenda of the plenary sitting.

The seven CSM members are: vice-president Nicolae Solomon, Anamaria Chiș, Mihai Bălan, Bogdan Mateescu, Cristian Ban, Florin Deac and Tatiana Toader.

Early this month, the Venice Commission urged the Romanian authorities to drastically limit the emergency ordinances, a draft opinion regarding GEO 7/2019 and GEO 12/2019 reads, while also saying that the reasons for establishing the Special Section for Investigating Magistrates (SIIJ) are unclear and that SIIJ is obstructing anti-corruption fight.

boycottCSMGRECOinvestigationmagistratesmembersplenary sittingsreportsspecial departmentsuperior council of magistracyVenice Commission
Comments (0)
Add Comment