Home / SPORTS / Football: Romania’s U 21 team qualifies to European Championship after defeating Liechtenstein!

Football: Romania’s U 21 team qualifies to European Championship after defeating Liechtenstein!

Romania’s U-21 national team has qualified to the European Championship final tournament in Italy, in 2019, after defeating Liechtenstein 4-0 (3-0) Tuesday evening, in Ploiesti, in the last match of qualifying Group 8.

Romania needed only one point to qualify.

The goals were scored by George Puşcaş (14th, 39th minutes), Ianis Hagi (25th min) and Adrian Petre (78th min).

Romania U-21 team thus qualified to a European Championship after 20 years, the last presence was in 1998 when Romania hosted the competition.

In the other matches of Group 8, Wales defeated Switzerland 3-1 and Portugal defeated Bosnia-Herzegovina 4-2.

Final standings: Romania (undefeated) – 24 points, Portugal – 22, Bosnia-Herzegovina – 18, Wales – 13, Switzerland – 10, Liechtenstein – 0.

The European Championship final tournament for the U-21 teams will take place in Italy and San Marino, in the cities of Bologna, Reggio Emilia, Cesena, Trieste, Udine and Serravalle.

!2 teams will take part: Italy (host country) Spain, France, Britain, Serbia, Germany, Croatia, Denmark, Belgium and Romania.

The last two teams to participate will be decided following play-off matches.

Romania started the qualification campaign coached by Daniel Isaila, but the last four matches has been coached by Mirel Radoi.


Romania: 1. Ionuţ Radu (captain) – 15. Mihai Butean, 6. Virgil Ghiţă, 4. Alexandru Paşcanu, 3. Florin-Bogdan Ştefan – 16. Dragoş Nedelcu, 17. Alexandru Cicâldău – 8. Dennis Man (22. Alexandru Măţan, 57th min), 10. Ianis Hagi (13. Olimpiu Moruţan, 64th min), 19. Andrei Ivan (11. Adrian Petre, 74th min) – 9. George Puşcaş. Coach: Mirel Rădoi.

Liechtenstein: 1. Armando Majer – 3. Philip Seemann, 2. Fabian Unterrainer, 5. Colin Haas (captain) – 16. Lukas Graber, 20. Noah Frommelt, 8. Noah Frick, 18. Noah Graber (11. Ridvan Kardesoglu, 83rd min) – 15. Basil Viret (14. Benjamin Vogt, 66th min), 10. Yanik Frick, 7. Fabio Wolfinger (6. Luca Ritter, 87th min). Coach: Heinz Fuchsbichler.

photo: TV capture Pro X


About Valeriu Lazar