Five Romanian MEPs, elected at the helm of EP’s standing committees

0 455

Five Romanian MEPs have been elected to the head of several standing committees of the new European Parliament resulted after the EP elections in May. Liberal Adina Valean has taken the most important seat, the president of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE).

Daniel Buda, also representing the Romanian National Liberal Party and the EPP group is vice-president of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development (AGRI), while Liberal Cristian Busoi (EPP) is vice-president of the Committee for the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI), EP informs.

Iuliu Winkler (UDMR- EPP) has been re-elected vice-president of the Committee on International Trade (INTA).

Social Democrat Maria Grapini (S&D Group) is vice-president of the Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection (IMCO).

Other three MEPs, who were to become vice-presidents in other two committees, the Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET) and the Committee on Regional Development (REGI) have not been elected in the constitutive session and they are to be voted in the next sitting.

Former President Traian Basescu (PMP, EPP Group) is to be one of the four vice-presidents of AFET Committee, while Adrian Dragoş Benea (PSD – S&D Group) and Cristian Ghinea (USR-Plus –  Renew Europe) would be vice-presidents of the REGI Committee.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More