Three new judges and a new president with the Constitutional Court as of Wednesday

1 75

The Constitutional Court will have three new judges as of Wednesday, as they are expected to be sworn in by 11.00h at Cotroceni Palace. Also on Wednesday the CCR President is to be elected for the next three years.

The three new judges are Livia Stanciu, Attila Varga şi Marian Enache – to be sworn in in front of President Klaus Iohannis.

Livia Stanciu, former president of the High Court for Cassation and Justice (ICCJ – Supreme Court) was appointed by President Klaus Iohannis on June 9 with the CCR for a nine-year mandate. She is to replace Augustin Zegrean, appointed in 2007 by the then President Traian Basescu.

Attila Varga, former UDMR MP, was appointed CCR judge for nine years by the Chamber of Deputies upon the UDMR proposal, with PSD support. He is to replace Tudorel Toader, appointed in 2007 by the lower chamber upon PNL proposal.

Marian Enache, former UNPR deputy, was appointed by the Senate, supported by PSD and UDMR. He is to replace Valentin Zoltan Puskas, appointed by the Senate in 2007 upon UDMR proposal.

CCR includes nine judges appointed for nine-year terms, mandates not to be extended or renewed. Three judges are appointed by the Chamber of Deputies, three by the Senate and three by the President of Romania. The court is renewed by a third every three years.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More