Vice-PM Viorel Stefan, finally appointed with the EU Court of Auditors

0 118

The Council of the European Union appointed new members of the European Court of Auditors (ECA): Viorel Ştefan, from Romania, has been appointed for the period from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025. He will replace Mr. George Pufan, the outgoing Member for Romania; and Ms. Ivana Maletić, from Croatia, has been appointed for the period from 15 July 2019 to 14 July 2025. She will replace Mr. Neven Mates, the outgoing Member for Croatia, a release posted on the institution’s website reads.

The Treaty requires the Members to perform their duties in complete independence and in the general interest of the European Union.

The Council took its decisions on the basis of proposals by the respective Member States and after consulting the European Parliament.

The College of Members, chaired by Klaus-Heiner Lehne, President of the ECA, will meet in its new composition to determine the specific duties of the two new Members. Ms Maletić and Mr Ştefan will be sworn in at the Court of Justice of the EU at a later date.

Proposed by the Viorica Dancila cabinet, Deputy Prime Minister Viorel Stefan was rejected twice in April, by the Budgetary Control Committee (CONT) with 8 votes ‘for’ and 12 votes ‘against’ and by the plenary of the European Parliament, with 222 votes ‘for’ and 372 votes ‘against’.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More