30 embassies in Bucharest and the EC Representation sign joint statement expressing support for the International Day Against Homophobia

0 99

30 foreign embassies to Romania and the European Commission Representation in Bucharest have released a joint statement on Wednesday to support for the LGBT community in Romania on the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, observed on May 17.

On the occasion of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, we express our support for, and solidarity with, the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex communities in Romania. We note that the 2017 Bucharest Pride Festival is currently taking place and we support the lawful right of these communities to use this traditional occasion to march together on May 20th (start at Arcul de Triumf at 16h) in order to peacefully raise awareness of the specific issues that affect them.

Human rights — including justice, equality, humanity, respect and freedom of expression — and the rule of law are the foundations upon which democratic states are built. Indeed, international human rights law is grounded on the premise that all individuals are entitled to the same rights and freedoms, as set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. It is this respect for fundamental human values that obliges governments to protect all citizens from violence and discrimination and to ensure that all people enjoy equal opportunities.

Some individuals still face discrimination, both systemic and overt, based on their sexual orientation and gender identity. Our governments seek to combat such discrimination by promoting the human rights of all people. Everyone, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and intersex people should be free to enjoy the rights and freedoms to which people of all nations are entitled,” says the joint statement issued by the embassies of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay and the European Commission.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More