European Football Championship kicks off. Romania to host four games

0 178

The European Football Championship EURO 2020 has kicked off today, with 24 teams lining up for the start oft he tournament, which is held, as a first, on 11 football fields in 24 European countries. It is a premiere that this competition is not hosted anymore by just one country, but by many others. Bucharest is among the hosts, with three games in the groups and a eights game taking place on “Lia Manoliu” National Arena.

Initially scheduled in 2020, the competition was postponed for 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic. The championship is taking place from June 11 to July 11.

EURO 2020 is also an anniversary edition, celebrating 60 years since the first European Championship.

The competition is hosted by 11 cities: Bucharest (Romania), Baku (Azerbaijan), Copenhagen (Denmark), London (UK), Munich (Germany), Budapest (Hungary), Rome (Italy), Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Saint Petersburg (Russia), Glasgow (Scotland), Seville (Spain).

Bucharest will host three games within Group C and one game in the final’s eights: Austria – North Macedonia (June 13, 19:00hrs), Ukraine-North Macedonia (June 17, 16:00hrs), Ukraine-Austria (June 21, 19:00hrs), all in Group C, as well as an eighth game played between the winner of Group F and the team ranking third in one of the groups A, B or C (on June 28, at 22:00hrs).

Other games are to be played on the stadiums of Seville (La Cartuja), London (Wembley), Glasgow (Hampden Park), Munich (Allianz Arena), Amsterdam (Johan Cruyff Arena), Copenhagen (Parken Stadium), Rome (Stadio Olimpico), Budapest (Puskas Arena), Saint Petersburg (Gazprom Arena), Baku (Olympic Stadium).

The opening game will take place in Rome, between Italy and Turkey and the finals on Wembley, UK.

UEFA 2020 offers the biggest prizes in history, 20% higher than at the previous European championship. Each victory will be awarded with EUR 1.5 million, a tie game with EUR 750,000. The finalists will also get big prizes: EUR 7 million for the the team ranking second and EUR 10 million for the champion.

Group A (Rome and Baku): Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland;

Group B (Copenhagen and Saint Petersburg): Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia;

Group C (Amsterdam and Bucharest): The Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia;

Group D (London and Glasgow): UK, Croatia, Scotland, Czechia;

Group E (Seville and Saint Petersburg): Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia;

Group F (Munich and  Budapest): Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More