UEFA EURO 2020 draw: Romania in Group F to play vs. Spain, Sweden, Norway, Faeroe Islands and Malta

0 97

The national football team of Romania will play in qualifying Group F for EURO 2020, against Spain, Sweden, Norway, Faeroe Islands and Malta, according to the draw on Sunday in Dublin.

The final tournament will take place during June 12-July 12, 2020, in 12 countries: England, Azerbaijan, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Spain and Hungary.

The National Arena in Bucharest will host four matches of the final tournament – three matches of Group C and one match counting for the last sixteen round. The EURO 2020 final will take place on Wembley Stadium in London, on July 12, 2020.

National team coach, Cosmin Contra said after the draw: “The group is not a difficult one, but not an easy one. We will fight with all our energy to qualify. I believe the calendar will have a bug importance, I mean the order of matches and the period of the year in which we will face the adversaries.”

UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying groups

Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Group C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar

Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan

Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, FYR Macedonia, Latvia

Group H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

Group I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

Group J: Italy, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein

Every team in a group plays each other twice, with the top two in each section qualifying automatically for the finals. That’s 20 of the 24 finals places taken care of, with a further four filled via the play-offs, uefa.com informs.

Each separate League (A, B, C and D) in the UEFA Nations League has been allocated one UEFA EURO 2020 place. Four sides from each League will contest single-leg semi-finals and a one-off final (entirely specific to the EURO) in March 2020. The winner of each of these four one-off finals gets a ticket to UEFA EURO 2020.

In theory, the play-offs are contested by the four winners of the quartet of groups that form each of the four Leagues. However, if a UEFA Nations League group winner has already qualified via the European Qualifiers, their spot goes to the next best-ranked team in their League.

file photo: Coach Cosmin Contra, hoping to qualify Romania to EURO 2020

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More