Update – Rugby: Romania defeats Georgia after seven years, wins Rugby Europe Championship 2017

0 47

Romania’s rugby national team has defeated Georgia on Sunday, in the last match counting for Rugby Europe Championship 2017. The game was played on the ‘Arch of Triumph’ stadium in Bucharest, Romania winning thus the ‘Antim Ivineanu’ cup, awarded to the winner team in direct matches.

It is Romania’s first victory against Georgia after seven years. The last victory was in Bucharest in 2010 (22-10).

Immediately after the game, the Rugby Europe officials, chaired by Romanian Octavian Morariu, have declared Georgia as winner of the competition, then they turned the decision and clarified that it was a technical mistake, handing the trophy to Romania.

In a release posted by the official website of Rugby Europe, the REC ranking has been modified according to the rules and Romania has been declared winner of the Rugby Europe Championship 2017.


“The final game between Romania and Georgia unveiled the Rugby Europe Champion 2017.

Further to the victory of Romania 8-7 in Bucharest, the ranking on the website has been automatically updated, including a technical error with a huge consequence on the facts – as the shield has been given to Georgia at the stadium.

In accordance and respect of the competition’s rules, ” If two or more teams have same number of points the best ranked will be: The Union having more number of match points in the games played between the tied Unions”

As the competition is played with a single game between teams, the winner of the game is the best team. So Romania has been officially announced “Champion 2017” thanks to its victory on Georgia.

The update of the rankings on the website requires technical assistance and will be done tomorrow.

Rugby Europe apologizes a lot to the fans, the players and the unions for the confusion around the final ranking and the trophy ceremony,” rugbyeurope.eu informs.


Romania – 1. Ionut Badiu (Carcassonne), 2. Otar Turashvili (Colomiers), 3. Alexandru Tarus (Beziers), 4. Johan Van Heerden (Stiinta Baia Mare), 5. Marius Antonescu (Tarbes), 6. Viorel Lucaci (CSA Steaua), 7. Andrei Gorcioaia (Massy), 8. Mihai Macovei (captain; Colomiers), 9. Florin Surugiu (CSA Steaua), 10. Florin Vlaicu (CSA Steaua), 11. Ionut Dumitru (CSA Steaua), 12. Sione Fakaosilea (Stiinta Baia Mare), 13. Jack Umaga (Timisoara Saracens), 14. Stephen Shennan (Timisoara Saracens), 15. Catalin Fercu (Timisoara Saracens).

Georgia: 1. Miheil Nariasvili (Montpellier), 2. Jaba Bregvadze (Worcester Warriors), 3. Soso Bekosvili (Brive), 4. Giorgi Nemsadze (Bristol), 5. Konstantin Mikautadze (Montpellier), 6. Ghiorghi Kilaisvili (Batoumi), 7. Mamuka Gorgodze (Toulon), 8. Beka Gorgadze (Stade Montois), 9. Vasil Lobjanidze (Brive), 10. Lasa Hmaladze (Lelo Saracens), 11. Sandro Todua (Lelo Saracens), 12. Merab Sarikadze (Aurillac), 13. Davit Kacearava (Enisei-STM), 14. Irakli Svanidze (Jiki Gori), 15. Merab Kvirikasvili (Lelo Saracens).

photo: FRR.ro

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More