Babylon ancient city and Prosecco hills, among the new entries on UNESCO World Heritage list

0 948

The Prosecco Hills, the renowned wine-growing region in Italy, which is also giving the name to the famous rosé drink, and the ancient city of Babylon from Iraq, world known for the Code of Hammurabi, are among the new 29 new sites included on the UNESCO World Heritage List at the 43rd session of the UNESCO Committee due in Baku, Azerbaijan these days.

Among the the new entries there are also the ancient metallurgy site of Burkina Faso, whose iron production dates back to the 8th century B.C.; Iceland’s Vatnajokull National Park, a spectacular swath of land comprised of canyons, river systems and subglacial volcanoes and Jaipur, an 8th-century city in India that is famed for its majestic architecture.

Eight buildings by the iconic American architect Frank Lloyd Wright, including the Guggenheim Museum in New York, were also added to the list.


Situated 85 km south of Baghdad, the property includes the ruins of the city which, between 626 and 539 BCE, was the capital of the Neo-Babylonian Empire. It includes villages and agricultural areas surrounding the ancient city. Its remains, outer and inner-city walls, gates, palaces and temples, are a unique testimony to one of the most influential empires of the ancient world. Babylon represents the expression of the creativity of the Neo-Babylonian Empire at its height. The city’s association with one of the seven wonders of the ancient world—the Hanging Gardens—has also inspired artistic, popular and religious culture on a global scale.

Once a thriving, splendorous city of the ancient world, home to hundreds of thousands of people and ruled by such famed historic leaders as Hammurabi and Nebuchadnezzar, Babylon is mostly marked by ruins today, some still being excavated.

Le Colline del Prosecco di Conegliano e Valdobbiadene

Located in north-eastern Italy, the site includes part of the vine-growing landscape of the Prosecco wine production area. The landscape is characterized by ‘hogback’ hills, ciglioni – small plots of vines on narrow grassy terraces – forests, small villages and farmland. For centuries, this rugged terrain has been shaped and adapted by man. Since the 17th century, the use of ciglioni has created a particular chequerboard landscape consisting of rows of vines parallel and vertical to the slopes. In the 19th century, the bellussera technique of training the vines contributed to the aesthetic characteristics of the landscape.

Eight places from Romania are currently on the UNESCO World Heritage List: Danube Delta, Churches of Moldavia, Monastery of Horezu, Villages with Fortified Churches in Transylvania, Dacian Fortresses of the Orastie Mountains, Historic Centre of Sighisoara, Wooden Churches of Maramures, and, the last entry, the Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians (shared site with other 11 European countries).

The ninth proposed Romanian site to be on UNESCO world heritage list,Rosia Montana, is still pending, as its inclusion was deferred after the debates of the 42nd session of the Committee for the UNESCO World Heritage.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More